Najmi and I have been contemplating for weeks about having baby no. 2, and Maya already started asking for a baby brother/sister. She is a big girl now and most of the time is independent playing by herself. Sometimes it makes me sad to see her play alone to the point of boredom.. she will circle the room and the not so good thing is, she becomes more clingy to us because there's nobody else to entertain her. To be honest I also kind of miss having a little infant around.. seeing them coo, smile and just being a baby is happiness (minus the crying, staying up late and the extended breastfeeding, of course. Ugh. My love-hate relationship with breastfeeding). Najmi also wanted a big family and would love to have another one soon, but to be blunt we don't think we are ready at this point. Our financial status is not strong yet, and I am still juggling a PhD. Having another baby would mean more expenses and even more stress at work and home, but.. there's a lot of buts! We just wanted to expand while we are still young.. I plan to stop having kids by age 33-35 and seeing that I wanted 3 kids (Najmi wants 5, hooray -_-) I hope I can start soon!
I guess I'll just listen to my gut feeling.. maybe I'll get to see another baby in a year or two from now, inshaAllah. May Allah ease this journey. In the meantime, I'll keep reading those articles of "When to have another baby" and coax myself into it. Hehe.
Those having baby no. 2, what makes you want to go for it?